MINUTES of CentreBike Membership Meeting

October 9, 2017

Meeting held at the State College Borough Building.


  • Tristan Avelis, President
  • Joan Potter, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Autumn Busbee
  • Valerie Burnett
  • Andrew Artz
  • Courtney Hayden
  • Mark Davison
  • Cecily Zhu
  • Paul Rito
  • Michele Chernega
  • Jeffrey Cornwall


The meeting was called to order by Tristan Avelis at 5:30 pm.

Treasurers Report

  • Current funds available total $9,132.84. Deposits included 3 new memberships totaling $48, and the only expense was the annual website hosting fee of $179.88. The bike light invoice was received today and will be paid this month.


  • Courtney Hayden, the Chairperson of CRBAC (Centre Region Bicycle Action Committee), gave a brief update and encouraged CentreBike members to attend a meeting. [CRBAC is a conduit between groups interested in cycling in the State College community. It connects bicycle advocates, transportation resources, local government agencies and police departments to the people they serve. CRBAC provides feedback on local projects during the planning phase to ensure that bicycle amenities are included, and works with agencies to improve consistency of bicycle safety education messages.]
  • The Light Up the Night event details were finalized for Thursday, October 26th from 4:00pm to 8:00pm with two volunteer shifts. A SignUp.com announcement will be shared with the listserv, on the website, and on Facebook. Depending on the number of volunteers there will be 3 or 4 locations. Volunteers will be assigned to a specific location and given handout material as well as bike lights to distribute.
  • Andrew Artz provided a status update of the 2.5 mile Bellefonte to Milesburg Rail Trail feasibility study that started in May. Overall positive – the project is moving along, and the hope is to start trail construction in 2020.
  • An Action Subcommittee was proposed by Andrew to take the ideas generated at CentreBike monthly meetings and move them forward faster. Ideally, 3-4 people would get together to work on project details to present at the regular meeting. Courtney moved to approve the formation of an Action Subcommittee and suggested the Vice President be the Committee leader. Andrew seconded. All in favor.
  • The 2018 Executive Committee Election process was announced. Nominees will be accepted at the November meeting and the election will take place in December. It was noted that Courtney Hayden will be moving in the spring and Joan Potter will be resigning as Secretary/Treasurer in December. The current Executive Committee includes:
    • Tristan Avelis, President
    • Andrew Artz, Vice President
    • Joan Potter, Secretary/Treasurer
    • Mark Davison
    • Brian Dempsey
    • Courtney Hayden
    • Cliff Kanz
    • Paul Rito
    • Jim Serene


There being no further business to come before the meeting, it adjourned at 6:35 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Potter, Secretary